ARROWHEAD UNION HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING SEPTEMBER 13, 2017 MINUTES

The meeting was called to order by President Rosch at 7:00 p.m. in the District Office Board Room.

Everyone rose for the Pledge of Allegiance.

Members present: Bob Rosch, Kent Rice, Sue Schultz, Craig Thompson, Dave Dean, Amy Hemmer, Tim Langer, Al Zietlow

Unable to attend: Donna Beringer

Administration present: Laura Myrah, Steve Kopecky, Adam Boldt, Gregg Wieczorek

The meeting was properly posted.

Moved by Zietlow, seconded by Rice to approve the minutes of the August 9, 2017, Regular Board meeting and the August 16, 2017, Annual Meeting as presented. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

Moved by Zietlow, seconded by Langer to approve the operating bill list and pay vouchers 817, 147863-148028, 201700037, 201700040-201700063, 201700065-201700076, 201700078, and 201700080 in the amount of \$1,728,065.84 and to approve credit card expenditure transactions as presented in the amount of \$208,188.31. Aye – 7 and Abstain – 1 (Dean). <u>Motion Carried.</u>

COMMUNICATIONS AND COMMENTS FROM MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC - None.

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT - Mr. Gregg Wieczorek, principal, reported on several start of school activities and highlights.

The Board of Education expressed their agreement with the proposed 2017/2018 performance goal topics for the superintendent, as presented by Ms. Myrah. At a future date she will provide additional written details for each goal, including rationale, intended outcomes, and key activities.

Ms. Myrah also presented the district's Mission & Focus Plan development process update, including a proposed online community survey regarding the mission, vision, values, beliefs, and desired outcomes of Arrowhead High School. The survey will be open for responses until October 31, 2017. The results of the survey will then be considered by a Focus Plan Development Team, comprised of approximately 35 students, staff, parents, and community members, during a day of strategic Mission & Focus Plan drafting in December 2017. The Arrowhead Mission & Focus Plan will be brought forward for action by the Board of Education in January or February 2018.

CURRICULUM – The next Curriculum Committee meeting is scheduled for September 28, 2017, at 6:45 a.m.

FINANCE & LEGISLATION –

Mr. Kopecky reviewed the bids received this morning for short-term borrowing. It is the recommendation from administration that the short-term borrowing note be secured from Robert W. Baird & Co. Incorporated, the lowest bidder.

Moved by Thompson, seconded by Zietlow to approve the "Resolution Authorizing Temporary Borrowing In Amount Not To Exceed \$1,475,000, Pursuant to Section 67.12(8)(a)1, Wis. Statutes," as presented, and secure the Tax and Revenue Anticipation Promissory Note from Robert W. Baird & Co. Incorporated. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

BUILDINGS & GROUNDS – The next Buildings and Grounds Committee meeting is scheduled for October 4, 2017, at 7:00 a.m.

PERSONNEL -

Moved by Zietlow, seconded by Thompson to approve the following individuals to be recipients of the 2017 Arrowhead Award, as recommended by the Personnel Committee: Liz Arsnow, Sue Casetta, Kim Dion, Craig Haase, Tracy MacDonald, Chet Tischer, and Jan Wenzler. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

The next meeting of the Personnel Committee is to be determined.

POLICY - The next Policy Committee meeting is scheduled for October 19, 2017, at 7:00 a.m.

WASB – Mr. Zietlow noted that October 1-7, 2017, is designated as Wisconsin School Board Appreciation Week, the 2017 WASB Fall Regional meeting for Region 11 is scheduled for October 17, 2017, at the Country Springs Hotel in Pewaukee, and the 2017 WSAA/WASB School Law Seminar is scheduled for October 20, 2017, in Madison.

CESA - Mr. Zietlow reported on the status of current programs and initiatives at CESA #1.

NEW BUSINESS:

There were no employee resignations/retirements presented for action by the Board of Education.

Moved by Dean, seconded by Langer to approve the 2017/2018 support staff letter of appointment for Scott Rice (Special Education Aide), Samantha Anderson (Special Education Aide), Jennifer Breier (Study Hall/Lunch Room Aide), Carolyn Young (Welcome Center/Security and Lunch Room Aide), Michel Kaliebe (Health Room Aide), and Bradley Clark (Lunch Room Aide) and to approve the 2017/2018 cocurricular letter of appointment for Thomas Legate (Head Robotics Advisor), William Buth (Asst. Robotics Advisor), Shawn Faessler (Asst. Robotics Advisor), Benjamin Pomeroy (Percussion Ensemble Advisor), Andrew Joseph (Pep Band Asst. Director) Ethan Elliott (Asst. Girls Golf Coach), Julie Roussel (Asst. Boys Volleyball Coach-prorated), Jennifer Jones (Asst. Girls Field Hockey Coach-prorated), and Ryan Andrews (Head National Honor Society Advisor) as presented. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

Moved by Zietlow, seconded by Hemmer to approve the Pool Facilities Use Agreement Between the Arrowhead Union High School District and Lake Country Swim Team as presented. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

Moved by Dean, seconded by Thompson to accept the donation of \$2,467.82 from Don Mullett for completion of the Mullett Ice Center's lockers, as presented. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS - None presented.

Moved by Zietlow, seconded by Dean to adjourn. Motion Carried.

The meeting adjourned at 8:02 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Diane Hoag Recording Secretary

Susan M. Schultz, Clerk